An Experiment in Raw Food

I had plans to go to my friend Elly’s today. When I texted her last night asking if we could cook, she agreed. That worked out super well for me since Elly cooks well and doesn’t rely on a recipe (which I still typically do). I told her I’d look for some good ideas, but when I woke up this morning, I got a list of amazing ideas from Elly. Ultimately we went with Gena’s Famous Zucchini Marinara, found on Choosing Raw¬†with a few changes and additions.

I’ll admit I was a little intimidated by the idea of raw food and not so sure about zucchini pasta. I do love zucchini and the idea of standing over a hot stove on an insanely hot day made this seem like a great idea. It turned out really good.

Elly and I went to the co-op near her apartment to get our veggies. We passed this sign on the way. I love it!

When we got back to Elly’s, she let me test out her SodaStream. I made seltzer and mashed up blueberries to add in. It was good. I’ve been debating getting one for a while but I definitely think its a worthwhile investment.

We started by making the marinara and then we made the zucchini pasta. We chopped/julienned the zucchini because we didn’t have a spiralizer. It worked really well, but I’m guess it would have seemed more like pasta if it had been spiraled. We added some red onion, grape tomatoes and avocado.

Presauce:

Postsauce:

Zucchini Pasta and Marinara

Ingredients:

  • 1 yellow pepper (or any sweet pepper)
  • 1/4 cup sundried tomatoes
  • 3/4 cup cherry or grape tomatoes (for marinara)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • salt, pepper, thyme, basil, and garlic powder to taste
  • 2 julienned or spiraled zucchinis
  • 1/4 cup chopped cherry/grape tomatoes (to add to zucchini)
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1/2 avocado, cubed
Directions:
  • Chop up the pepper and 3/4 cup of tomatoes.
  • Add pepper, sundried tomatoes, 3/4 cup of tomatoes, olive oil, and spices into a food processor. Thats it for the marinara!
  • Julienne or spiral the zucchinis.
  • Add some tomatoes, red onion and avocado.
  • Add the sauce on top.
Serves 2.
Elly and I added some parmesan cheese but it wasn’t really necessary. We said maybe next time we’d add the avocado directly into the sauce. We thought it might have made it creamier and thicker. It was good the way we had it too.

Full disclosure: I would not have been really nervous adding “some” or even “a generous sprinkle” of a spice. Elly took care of that and it came out great.

She also put a tiny bit of salt on her watermelon, which was surprisingly delicious.

Thanks Elly for making this great meal with me!

One response

Leave a Reply

