Farmer’s Market and Kale Salad

After my doctors appointment today I walked the 20-ish blocks to the Union Square Farmer’s Market. There was so much amazing produce. Some of it was more expensive than it would be at a grocery store. ($5 for blueberries… I wish blueberries were always 2 for $5 like they were a month ago.) Some things were amazingly cheap. I got a head of lettuce for $1! I got kale for $2.50.

I know my last 2 posts had a lot of zucchini in it. Don’t get me wrong, I like zucchini, but I’m not that obsessed with it. Its just in season right now.

See! A lot of zucchini! For $1 a pound. Even though I’d already bought 3 avocado squashes, I bought one more of these.

Here is what I got at the farmer’s market:

  • 1 head of Romaine lettuce
  • 1 bunch of basil (I asked for half, but the guy insisted I talk it all and that I’d use it all… Now I’ve got a lot of basil.)
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 zucchini
  • 3 avocado squashes (it almost feels like the plural should be squish or squishes)
  • 3 red apples
  • 1 green apples
  • 3 peaches
  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 1 bouquet of dried lavender
I was pretty pleased with what I came out with and what I spent. (And yes, you do see a tin full of colored pencils, paper and other arts and crafts supplies in the background.)
The dried lavender smells so amazing. I saw a tent called “Lavender,” and I had to stop by. I love the smell of lavender. When the woman said that this would last for years and would make a whole room smell great, I had to get it. Its not on the table in my entry way/living room.
I had kind of a late lunch so I wasn’t particularly hungry. I won’t lie, that was a little disappointing considering how much food I just bought. I had something planned with some of that zucchini. I suppose that’ll have to wait for another tonight.
I did make lunch for tomorrow instead. I made a kale salad with cucumber, grape tomato, green apple and a little parmesan cheese.
 
I know kale can be a little too much, particularly when it is raw. If you massage it (literally just squeeze it in your fist), it becomes delicious. That made enough for 2 lunches. Also, after I took the photo, I realized I had no protein in this salad so I added some chickpeas. I’m debating dressings. I’m thinking about raspberry vinaigrette to balance out the bitterness of the kale.
I love making lunch like this because I’m excited about tomorrow’s lunch and its not even tomorrow yet!
Leave a Reply

