In honor of shark week…

I channeled my inner shark and made fish! I love Shark Week, and I do love eating fish.

I bought a salmon fillet at the grocery store on my way home from work and scoured the internet for delicious recipes. There were a lot of fancy ways of preparing fish, but I really just wanted the fish with nothing really getting in the way. Ultimately, I decided to just cover it in lemon juice and dill.

With my hands all covered in fish, I forgot to take a picture before I cooked it.

Salmon Fillet with Dill

Ingredients:

  • Salmon fillet
  • Half a lemon or lemon juice
  • Dill
  • Salt and pepper to taste
Directions:
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Lay the salmon out on tinfoil.
  • Squeeze the juice from half a lemon over the salmon. (If you keep your lemons in the fridge, microwave the lemon for 20 seconds to increase the amount of juice you can squeeze from it.)
  • Add dill, then salt and pepper to taste.
  • Wrap the fillet in tin foil and place on a baking sheet (in case any of the juice leaks out.)
  • Very important step: Call both parents, childhood nanny, and a number of friends in a panic, asking how to tell when salmon is cooked through until some one finally answers. Oh, wait, no? You don’t do that? Oh.
I left my salmon in for about 25 minutes, even though most online recipes suggested 10-15 minutes. I had a fairly thick fillet though. According to my dad, the color should thoroughly be changed, the fish should flake easily, and it should feel hot all the way through. He told me to cut the fish in half, and touch the middle. If it was hot, it was probably done.
While the fish was cooking, I decided I needed to use some of the basil I bought at the farmers market yesterday. I settled on pesto but I didn’t have pinenuts. I did have a whole bunch of cashews that needed to be used….
I started by putting the basil through the salad spinner. Seriously, an amazing invention. It makes cleaning leafy vegetables so easy. I brought out the food processor and experimented. It turned out well. It has a nuttier flavor than regular pesto.
Cashew-Basil Pesto
Ingredients:
  • 2 cups basil, lightly packed
  • 2 cubes frozen garlic (from Trader Joes or you could use 2 cloves of garlic and put it through a garlic press)
  • 2/3 cup cashews
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Directions:
  • Wash basil.
  • Add basil, garlic and cashews to a food processor. Process/blend/combine (what’s the appropriate word for this?) until its relatively small pieces
  • Add olive. Continue blending.
I never cook with a lot of olive oil. You may want to add more.
I took a ton of pictures and this was the best one I could come up with. Pesto doesn’t photograph very well.
 
I made some whole wheat pasta to eat the pesto with. It turned out really well.
I ended up with a really great meal:
 
It was really good. So good the shark tried to eat it!
Hahaha. I was too quick for him!
In other news, I got twitter. Check it out @katietries2cook
And stay tuned… up next: peanut butter chocolate chip hummus!
One response

  1. Pingback: Peanut butter Chocolate chip Hummus | Katie tries to Cook

Leave a Reply

