Peanut butter Chocolate chip Hummus

I have a confession to make. I’ve been dreaming about food all day today. Even though I brought some cashew basil pesto and some delicious kale salad, I wasn’t thinking about that. I have another confession: I didn’t eat a real dinner tonight.

All I could think about was my peanut butter chocolate chip hummus. Its creamy, earthy, hearty, sweet, and delicious.

I forced myself eat a peach and some veggies before I dug in.

 

I found the recipe for peanut butter chocolate chip hummus over at the Wannabe Chef. I wasn’t sure if this would taste like hummus or like peanut butter. It looked like cookie dough, so I decided to try it. (It tastes mostly like peanut butter cookie dough, but its got a little of the earthy, chick pea flavor, which I like.) Its so much healthier than eating cooking dough.

I’m a little light on pictures for this because I was mostly distracted by eating it. Oops.

I like this because its got great flavor, its got lots of protein from the chickpeas, and it was really easy to make. All I needed was the ingredients, a few minutes, and food processor. The ingredients were fairly cheap too. I got a 19 ounce can of chick peans for $1.69. I spent some money on the chocolate and the peanut butter. I already had the maple syrup and vanilla.

I knew I was going to want to this, but I also knew I’d want to have some around for a little while. It was so easy to make, I made a second batch!

About 5 minutes after I finished, my roommate came in and I handed the bowl to her. She asked if I made cookie dough, I said no, its peanut butter chocolate chip hummus. She asked what she was supposed to eat it with, I said a spoon.

 

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter (I used one that listed only peanuts as an ingredient)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (I used slightly less than 1/4 cup)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 2/3 cup of chocolate chips
Directions:
  • Blend chickpeas in a food processor
  • Add peanut butter, maple syrup, and vanilla. Continue blending until smooth.
  • Fold in chocolate chips.
  • Serve.

Serve with a spoon. You can also serve with graham crackers, banana or apple slices or carrots. I think it has too much flavor to serve with anything else.

Easy, right?
In fact, the first batch that I made all went in the blender at the same time.
That turned out perfectly fine. I think the chick peas blended a little better once they’d gone through the food processor once on their own. The smoother and creamier this is, the better it will taste. On the Wannabe Chef’s website, he suggested peeling the chickpeas. I did the first time and I didn’t the second. I couldn’t really taste a difference.
There are lots of other add ins I think you use. I’m definitely going to have to try some others.
Enjoy!
 
4 responses

Leave a Reply

