A Saturday Brunch

Complete with waffles, scones, and iced coffee!

Yes, I know today it Monday. I didn’t have time to write the post on Saturday, so I’m writing it now.

I’ve been waiting to make the scones that I saw on FAnnetasticFood, so when my friends said they wanted to have a brunch, I jumped on the idea and invited them over. One of them had mentioned wanting waffles. Last year I won a waffle maker with real Vermont syrup, and some other random things in a raffle.

I woke up way before them and began working on the scones. As soon as they got there, I started working on the waffles. I wont lie, I cheated. I used a mix. One of my friends was moving and giving away a bunch of her food. (Side note: I miss you! If you come back, I’ll make these scones for you!) One thing I managed to snag was this:

It was super fancy. And they came out really well. I made enough for 3 waffles. Each time I’d open the waffle maker, they’d be beautiful.

I couldn’t wait to eat them. I put it on the plate on the table, turn around to add more batter to the waffle maker, and turn back around. This is what I found:

Haha. I did snag some. The waffles turned out really light and fluffy.

It was perfect timing, because as soon as we finished the waffles, the scones were ready.

These were so easy and delicious. Anne’s original recipe was for cranberry yogurt scones. Blueberries are in season and I love blueberries. And then I made a few other small changes.

Blueberry Yogurt Scones

Ingredients: 

  • 1.5 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 6 Tbsp cold butter
  • 1 cup of blueberries
  • 1/2 cup fat free greek yogurt
Directions:
  • Preheat over to 425 degrees.
  • Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.
  • Add small slices of butter, a few at a time, and mix.
  • Add in the yogurt. Mix. It will be dough, so expect it to be very thick.
  • Add in the blueberries.
  • Place on a greased (or cooking sprayed) baking sheet.
  • Make into a large circle and slice in 8 slices.
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes until slightly crispy.
Before you bake it, it should look like this:
After you bake, it will look like this:
Anne sprinkled some sugar on top before she baked hers. I skipped that step. I do love sprinkled sugar on top of muffins, scones, and probably any other baked goods. But I left it off to be slightly healthier.
Also, in retrospect, frozen blueberries might have been better. Fresh blueberries were amazingly delicious. However, they got smushed when adding them into the dough. I didn’t really mind having them mushed up though. White flour would also work just as well as whole wheat pastry flour.
These are very good and buttery. They are more moist (moister?) than a lot of scones which I really enjoyed. Let me know if you try them!
Leave a Reply

