Pumpkin Oatmeal

A quick note: I had some difficulty with the photos Addi sent me. I want to make sure I’m able to get that sorted out before I publish her post. It’ll come soon. A post Thanksgiving post I’m sure will be in order this Friday and then I’ll get Addi’s post here. Also, I apologize for any typos in this post. wordpress is a little funky right now and I can’t see what I’m typing.

I’m kind of a creature of habit. (Which, let me tell you, does not make for an easy blog. If you eat the same thing every day for breakfast, its barely interesting to me. No one wants to read that every day.)

Seriously though, when I find something I like, I have a tendency to stick with it until I discover something different or until I decide I don’t actually like it any more.

I’ve been a big fan of oatmeal for a while now. When I woke up last weekend, I was craving something warm, hearty, healthy, and appropriate for the weekend before Thanksgiving. The night before I’d gone to bed excited about the prospect of an omlete and coffee with out the rush or needing to leave my apartment. Saturday morning, I wanted something more holiday-ish. And then I found a can of pumpkin in my cabinet.

And now I’ve been eating pumpkin oatmeal (with some small variations) this entire week. I’ve tried honey, maple syrup, brown sugar, and milk as sweeteners. (Interestingly, I think milk is the best. Then maybe maple syrup if you like really sweet things.) I’ve added pecans some mornings for a little bit of crunch. My constants are the oatmeal, the pumpkin and the cinnamon and nutmeg. I love cinnamon.

Saturday I had it with some crushed pecans mixed in and a little bit of maple syrup and a delicious cup of coffee. So nice to just relax and enjoy the morning without having to rush to get ready for work.

Sunday I woke up after coming home from a Thanksgiving dinner and was craving more of this delicious treat.

I made another batch of oatmeal but used some brown sugar in place of the maple syrup. Better. More cinnamon. Even better. Add some chai tea, cantaloupe and the ending to a good book. Awesome Sunday morning.

This is really easy to make. So far, I’ve made it on the stove. I typically microwave my oatmeal in the morning, but I’ve been doing it on the stove. I’d imagine the microwave would work also.

The oatmeal I’ve been using is Country Choice Multigrain Hot Cereal from Trader Joes. Its great, but I’ve always added something to it.

Pumpkin Oatmeal
Cook time: 10 minutes (probably an exaggeration)
Yeilds: 1 bowl of oatmeal

Ingredients:
• Oatmeal (I recommend either ⅓ up or ½ cup)
• Water (2 parts water to 1 part oatmeal. i.e. ½ cup oatmeal needs 1 cup of water)
• A pinch of salt
• ½ cup pumpkin (I use Libby’s canned pumpkin)
• 2 Tbsp Milk
• Cinnamon—maybe 1 tsp, I don’t measure, I just add a lot
• Nutmeg – a few shakes

Directions
• Make oatmeal as following directions on packaging. Typically, heat oatmeal, water and salt until most of the water has cooked out.
• Slightly before the oatmeal has finished cooking, add in the pumpkin, milk, cinnamon and nutmeg.
• Continue stirring until the pumpkin is heated as well.
• Add additional cinnamon and nutmeg (and any other maple syrup, brown sugar, etc, you want… but don’t necessarily need) to taste

Whats your favorite thing to put in oatmeal?

Leave a Reply

