Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Hello friends!

Sorry for the seriously overdue post! I’ve been so busy that I haven’t had time to post. I’ve had lots of time to cook… and bake.

I’ve cooked and baked a lot! Now I just need some time to be posting without cooking. If only my fridge wasn’t empty right now…

 

Anyway, the Saturday after Thanksgiving we had a huge brunch at my house. All of the kids my brother and sister went to high school with (and a few parents) came by the house. We had bagels, waffles, bacon, eggs, and of course, muffins.

I decided to make two kinds of muffins. I knew one was going to be something pumpkin-ish because it was Thanksgiving weekend (we’ll get there soon) and the other would be my mom’s favorite… lemon poppy muffins.

My mom always complains that I make my food to healthy. She says it tastes good, but its not the buttery goodness she gets at a bakery. So I was determined to make the butteriest muffins, the most unhealthy but delicious muffins I could find.

 

And thats exactly what I did…

I googled “Martha Stewart Lemon Poppy Muffins,” which led me to this, a recipe brought to Martha Stewart Radio by Amy’s Bread.

I followed the directions almost completely. No healthy flours. Used every last drop of sugar. My only substitution was yogurt for the sour cream and that was only because I didn’t buy it.

 

The recipe recommends using a stand mixer with the whisk attachment. I did it by hand. It worked, but it was tiring.

You start by creaming the butter and sugar together. 

Action shot:

Really get it creamy. Then add the eggs, and keep beating.

My mom tasted this. She thought it was delicious. It had better be. Its only butter, sugar and eggs.

In a separate small bowl, mix lemon juice, lemon zest, vanilla and poppy seeds. Then add that into the butter, sugar, eggs fluffiness.

Tip 1: Lemon Zest: You can use a grater. Just don’t press too hard. When you get to the white of the lemon, stop. Thats where it gets bitter and gross.

Tip 2: Lemon juice: Put the lemon in the microwave for 15-20 seconds. It should feel a little warm to the touch. You’ll get more juice out of it.

Whisk the dry ingredients together in a separate small bowl. Add half of the flour into the buttery mix. Add the sour cream. Continue mixing. Add the rest of the flour in. Don’t over mix it.

Add into a greased muffin tin.

Bake. While its baking, whisk together more lemon juice and sugar.

Remove from the oven and brush muffins with lemon juice and sugar.

Serve!

I’d say my mom approved. Although she wasn’t so happy that I made her stay up until 1 am to try one fresh out of the oven… Such a trooper!

 

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Time: 30-45 minutes?

Cook Time: Less than 20 minutes

Yeilds: 12 Large overflowing muffins or 24 smaller (but still full) muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter
  • 1.5 cups (+1 Tablespoon) sugar
  • 5 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup poppy seeds
  • 2 Tablespoons + 1/2 teaspoon Lemon Zest
  • 2 Tablespoons + 1/2 teaspoon Lemon Juice
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract
  • 3.25 cups all Purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon Baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon Baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup Yogurt
  • 1/4 cup Lemon Juice for Glaze
  • 1/4 cup Sugar for Glaze

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees with one rack in the middle of the over. Grease the muffin tin.
  • In a mixer with the whisk attachment or with a whisk, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs until extremely fluffy. (and according to my mom… delicious)
  • In a small bowl, combine the poppy seeds, lemon zest, lemon juice and vanilla extract. Add into the batter. Mix well.
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt). Add half of this into the batter and mix until combined.
  • Add the yogurt into the batter and continue mixing. Add in the remaining dry ingredients. Do not over mix. (One day, I’ll define this.)
  • Scoop the batter into the muffin tin.
  • Bake for 8 minutes. Rotate the muffin tin front to bake (so that it bakes evenly.) Continue baking for 8 minutes. Check after 3-4 minutes. Bake until a toothpick comes out clean from the center of the muffin.
  • While the muffins are baking combine the lemon juice and sugar for the glaze.
  • When the muffins are done baking, brush or spoon lemon juice mixture over each muffin to moisten.
  • Cool in pan for 10 minutes and then finish cooling on a wire rack.
  • Serve warm or wrap up muffins to keep them moist.

Mom approved!

(She always does…)

Leave a Reply

