Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

So I might be a little obsessed with this recipe. The pumpkin makes it nice and hearty but that, and the chocolate chips gives it just the right amount of sweetness.

I made it first for our post-Thanksgiving brunch. Then I made it again after I came back to New York. Its delicious. I made it two ways. One following the recipe complete with all of the sugar and other things, and one in a slightly healthier version. I’ll be honest, I didn’t taste the difference.

 

I found the original recipe here from myrecipes.com. The recipe originally came from Cooking Light. I love that the nutritional info is given on the website. Of course, the way I changed the recipe, it’d be a little different. It turns out to be around 150 calories a slice (assuming you’re getting 16 slices). As far as muffins go, its pretty healthy.

Did I mention you could also make it into muffins?

 

Oh, before I get into the recipe… When I was making these in my apartment, I was gchatting with a friend. The conversation:

me: sorry that bit of conversation was so disjointed, i was getting the last of mybaking into the oven
 Kyle: watcha bakin?
  muffins? I bet it’s muffins.
me: and bread
  i’m doing both right now
  i made a double batch but how did you know?
 Kyle: fancy schmancy
  because you always make muffins
  you love muffins
  it was an educated guess – a high-probability hypothesis, if you will.
I think I’m getting to predictable. I’m going to need to change the name of the blog so you know its all muffins all the time… Or you know, start cooking.
Anyway, these muffins/bread, whichever. Or both. This recipe is actually a double recipe. If you only want one loaf or one set of muffins, just cut each ingredient in half.
Also, this little guy, loved the muffins. He kept trying to steal them off the table.
And that face… he looks so innocent…
Ok, I know this is pumpkin, but the pictures all have a little of an off color. Its because I used my ipod to take the pictures. I need to learn to charge my camera!
(For the full recipe, see below)
To make these, start with the pumpkin.
Add in the sugar, vanilla yogurt, egg whites, apple sauce (or oil) and flax seeds (optional) and whisk together.
In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour cinnamon, salt, and baking soda. Add the flour mixture into the the pumpkin mixture until moist.
Mix in the chocolate chips.
Spread into a greased pan or muffin tins.
Sprinkle some extra chocolate chips and pepitas (pumpkin seeds) on top so its look pretty.
Pop in the oven. Remove when it looks like this. And then complete the cooling on a wire rack.
Serve. And watch out for that pesky dog who is going to try to steal it.
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread
Yield: two loaves or 24 muffins. (or 12 muffins and 1 loaf)
Ingredients
  • 1.5 cups of sugar
  • 2 cups of canned pumpkin (not canned pumpkin pie filling!)
  • 1/2 cup Apple sauce (or canola oil)
  • 1/2 cup Vanilla Yogurt (I used fat free vanilla greek yogurt)
  • 4 Large egg whites
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds (optional, if you do, leave out 1 egg white)
  • 1.5 cups All Purpose Flour
  • 1.5 Cups Whole Wheat Flour (you can use All Purpose Flour for this as well. 3 cups of flour total)
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1.25 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 Cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Line muffin tins or spray muffin tins/loaf pans with cooking spray. (8 x 4 in loaf pans are recommended)
  • In a large bowl, combine sugar, pumpkin, apple sauce, yogurt, egg whites and flax. Whisk together.
  • In a separate medium bowl, whisk flour, cinnamon, salt, and baking soda together.
  • Add flour mixture into pumpkin mixture and continue whisking until moist.
  • Stir in chocolate chips.
  • Spoon into loaf pans or muffin tins.
  • Bake. If you are baking loafs, bake for approximate 1 hour- 1 hour and 15 minutes. If you are baking muffins, bake approximately 15-20 minutes. In either case, bake until a tooth pick can be inserted and can come out clean from the center.
  • Cool for 5-10 minutes in pans, and then remove to a wire rack. Continue cooling.
  • Enjoy!

If you bake extra, who do you like to share yours with?

 

Leave a Reply

